Underrated Love Languages That Are Actually More Meaningful Than The Big 6

Love languages are the ways in which individuals express and experience love. Coined by Dr. Gary Chapman, the concept of love languages suggests that people have different preferences in how they give and receive affection. While the “Big 6” love languages like words of affirmation, acts of service, receiving gifts, quality time, and physical touch are well-known, there are other underrated love languages that can be equally, if not more, meaningful in relationships.

The Big 6 Love Languages

Before diving into underrated love languages, let’s briefly touch upon the widely recognized Big 6 love languages:

  • Words of Affirmation: Expressing love through verbal compliments, encouragement, or affirmations.
  • Acts of Service: Demonstrating love by doing helpful things for your partner.
  • Receiving Gifts: Showing affection through thoughtful gifts.
  • Quality Time: Spending undivided and meaningful time together.
  • Physical Touch: Expressing love through physical affection like hugs, kisses, or holding hands.

While these love languages are valuable and essential in relationships, there are other ways to express love that might not receive as much recognition but hold profound significance.

Underrated Love Languages

Importance of Underrated Love Languages

Underrated love languages often focus on the deeper emotional connection between partners. They may not be as overt or flashy as the Big 6, but they can create a strong foundation for a lasting and fulfilling relationship.


Thoughtfulness involves considering your partner’s needs, desires, and preferences in your actions and decisions. It goes beyond simply doing tasks for them; it’s about anticipating their needs and making gestures that demonstrate your care and attention to detail.


Empathy is the ability to understand and share the feelings of another person. It involves actively listening to your partner, validating their emotions, and showing genuine concern for their well-being. Empathy fosters a deep sense of connection and understanding in relationships.

Quality Listening

Quality listening goes beyond hearing words; it involves truly understanding and empathizing with your partner’s thoughts and feelings. It requires being fully present in the conversation, offering your undivided attention, and responding with empathy and understanding.


Respect is fundamental in any relationship. It involves treating your partner with dignity, honoring their boundaries, and valuing their opinions and autonomy. Respect fosters trust and mutual admiration, laying the groundwork for a healthy and respectful partnership.


Supporting your partner means being there for them in both good times and bad. It involves offering encouragement, validation, and practical assistance when needed. Support creates a sense of security and reassurance in the relationship, strengthening the bond between partners.


Encouragement involves uplifting your partner and believing in their abilities and potential. It means providing motivation, praise, and support to help them pursue their goals and aspirations. Encouragement boosts confidence and self-esteem, fostering growth and resilience in the relationship.

Examples of Expressing Underrated Love Languages

Expressing underrated love languages can take many forms, such as:

  • Thoughtfully planning a surprise date night based on your partner’s interests and preferences.
  • Showing empathy and understanding during difficult times by actively listening and offering emotional support.
  • Respecting your partner’s boundaries and decisions, even if they differ from your own.
  • Being a supportive and encouraging presence as your partner pursues their passions and dreams.

Benefits of Embracing Underrated Love Languages

Embracing underrated love languages can lead to numerous benefits in a relationship, including:

  • Deepening emotional intimacy and connection between partners.
  • Fostering mutual respect, understanding, and trust.
  • Strengthening communication and conflict resolution skills.
  • Promoting a supportive and nurturing environment for personal growth and development.
  • Enhancing overall relationship satisfaction and happiness.

In conclusion, while the Big 6 love languages are widely recognized, underrated love languages like thoughtfulness, empathy, respect, support, and encouragement can offer unique and profound ways to express love and strengthen relationships. By embracing these underrated love languages, couples can cultivate deeper emotional connections, foster mutual understanding and respect, and create a more fulfilling and meaningful partnership.


  1. What are underrated love languages? Underrated love languages are expressions of affection that may not receive as much attention as the Big 6 love languages but are equally, if not more, meaningful in relationships. They focus on deeper emotional connections and understanding between partners.
  2. How can I express underrated love languages in my relationship? You can express underrated love languages by being thoughtful, empathetic, respectful, supportive, and encouraging towards your partner. This may involve actively listening, anticipating their needs, validating their feelings, and offering encouragement and support.
  3. Why are underrated love languages important in relationships? Underrated love languages are important because they foster deeper emotional intimacy, understanding, and connection between partners. They create a supportive and nurturing environment for personal growth and development, leading to greater relationship satisfaction and happiness.
  4. Can underrated love languages complement the Big 6 love languages? Absolutely! Underrated love languages can complement the Big 6 love languages by adding depth and nuance to expressions of affection. While the Big 6 focus on different ways of showing love, underrated love languages emphasize the emotional connection and understanding between partners.
  5. How can I identify my partner’s underrated love languages? Pay attention to how your partner responds to different gestures and expressions of affection. Notice which actions or behaviors seem to resonate with them the most and make them feel loved and appreciated. Communication and observation are key to identifying your partner’s underrated love languages.

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button